17-year-old Japanese driver Hiyu Yamakoshi has inherited his maiden win in the FIA Formula 4 Italian Championship as the on-track winner of race one, Freddie Slater, was disqualified.

By Marco Albertini

Slater took the win on track with Yamakoshi and Indian-American driver Akshay Bohra securing second and third. However, a post-race technical inspection found an irregularity with the front wing of the British Prema driver’s car, resulting in his disqualification from the race.

As a result, Van Amersfoort Racing driver Yamakoshi inherited his first-ever Italian F4 win, whilst US Racing’s Bohra was promoted to second. Indian driver Dion Gowda moved up to third to secure his first-ever podium with Prema Racing, completing an all-Asian podium.

Further down the field, Emirati driver Rashid Al Dhaheri moved up to P8, securing more championship points in the process.

Race one’s top ten finishers

  • Hiyu Yamakoshi (JPN), Van Amersfoort Racing – P1
  • Akshay Bohra (IND), US Racing – P2
  • Dion Gowda (IND), Prema Racing – P3
  • Jack Beeton (AUS), US Racing – P4
  • Tomass Stolcermanis (LVA), Prema Racing – P5
  • Maxim Rehm (DEU), US Racing – P6
  • Gustav Jonsson (SWE), Van Amersfoort Racing – P7
  • Rashid Al Dhaheri (UAE), Prema Racing – P8
  • Gianmarco Pradel (AUS), US Racing – P9
  • Emanuele Olivieri (ITA), AKM Motorsport – P10

Header photo credit: Paolo Pellegrini


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here