Super Pig SCG Jobmontri Omega Nexzter Racing Team driver Nuttanuch Wongsomboon won Sunday’s dramatic TH Super Pickup D1 (Class A-B) race in his #93 Isuzu All New.

By Nida Anis

Polesitter Chinnawut Laochinchart maintained his position at the start. However, he Alpha Factory Racing Team by Pulzar #23 Isuzu D-Max driver wasn’t able to pull away as the safety car was deployed after an incident on the first lap.

The safety car was called in with ten laps remaining. However, the lap after the restart saw one car spin while another, Songsak Kornsirisuepsakun’s #92 Toyota Hilux Champ, crashed into the barriers.

Shortly afterwards, W-Tech Racing by RPM driver Andrew Cronin was given a five-second time penalty for passing another car after the control line.

To make matters worse for Cronin, the #53 Isuzu All New pilot spun at Turn 2 and collided with Jack Lemvard’s #41 Ford Ranger with five laps to go. This forced Lemvard to retire from the race and significantly damaged Cronin’s #53.

The safety car was brought out with four laps remaining and called in with two laps to go. That wasn’t the end of the drama, however, as race leader Laochinchart crashed just before the hairpin on the final lap.

The #23 suffered significant damage to its front left and plummeted down the order to tenth place as Wongsomboon inherited the race victory.

TH Super Pickup D1 (Class A-B) race two top ten

  1. Nutthanuch Wongsomboon (Isuzu All New, Pickup A) – 26:22.457
  2. Suwat Limjirapinya (Isuzu All New, Pickup B) – 1.644s
  3. Suphachai Khongman (Isuzu All New, Pickup A) – 2.014s
  4. Thanaphon Chucharoenpon (Isuzu All New, Pickup A) – 2.580s
  5. Sandy Stuvik (Ford Ranger, Pickup A) – 13.271s
  6. Tanawat Suwannarat (Isuzu D-Max, Pickup A) – 13.860s
  7. Jaturon Eamrod (Isuzu All New, Pickup B) – 14.674s
  8. Natthawut Phuengphrom (Isuzu All New D-Max, Pickup B) – 15.013s
  9. Anuwat Maniain (Isuzu D-Max, Pickup B) – 15.214s
  10. Chinnawut Laochinchart (Isuzu D-Max, Pickup A) – 15.342s

For more updates from the 2024 Bangsaen Grand Prix, stay tuned to Asian Motorsport.

Header photo credit: Mac


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here