Drivers hailing from various corners of the Asia-Pacific region are gearing up for an exhilarating weekend of competition at the inaugural Asia Pacific Motorsport Championship.

The thrilling event is set to unfold at Malaysia’s Sepang International Circuit, and will feature a diverse array of motorsport disciplines including Rally, Karting, Esports and Auto Gymkhana.  

More than 170 competitors are expected to taker part in the event spread across 18 countries in the Asia-Pacific region. 

Each motorsport discipline will run at their own schedules, with Friday’s action compiling of driver briefings and car tests before the action officially gets underway following the opening ceremony on Saturday morning.

Team Australia, led by the two-time Motorsport Australia Motorkhana champion Aaron Wuillemin, boasts a formidable roster of 12 exceptionally talented drivers.

Corinne East-Johnson, an accomplished motorkhana competitor with her own impressive credentials, will be teaming up with Wuillemin for the Gymkhana Cup.


Together, boasting a total of five national championships, they are poised to be a formidable force in their respective competition, and will also have two-time Victorian Khanacross production champion, Matt Caldwell by their side for greater measure.  

The trio will compete in a mix of single and paired competition.

The team will be in safe hands in the Rally Cup, with 2022 Motorsport Australia Rally Championship Junior Cup winner, Molly Spalding and co-driver Matthew Dilon the sole representation for the upcoming games, while Zachary Smith and Ryan Hoolihan will compete in the Esports Cup.

Both Smith and Hoolihan possess extensive experience on the global stage, with the former notably securing a second-place finish overall in the recent Motorsport Australia versus Motorsport UK Invitational event, while Hoolihan closely followed in third place.

Both competitors will go through a series of qualifying and practice rounds leading up to the crucial semi-final races, which will ultimately determine their eligibility for the finals.

In the meantime, the Rally aspect of the event will see its first taste of action in a six-hour regularity on Saturday, before undertaking two controlled timed speed stages on the final day of action. 

Team Australia will have its greatest representation in the Karting Cup, with six talented drivers competing across the Cadet, Junior and Senior classes.  

Those six drivers will be Bradley Majman, Ky Burke, Jace Matthews, Declan Matthews, Riley Harrison and Blake Purvis.

Each competitor will take to the track for two heats on Saturday, before both the super heat and finals round out the weekends action on Sunday.  

The Asia Pacific Motorsport Championship takes place at Sepang International Circuit on 30 September – 1 October.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here