Asian Motorsport reviews the action from race one of the second round of the Italian F4 championship at Imola.

By Marco Albertini

Race one of the second round of the FIA Formula 4 Italian Championship was held at 17:30 local time.

Hiyu Yamakoshi was on pole and kept the lead at the start, but the race was soon neutralized as three separated incidents happened on the opening lap.

The first incident happened at the first chicane and was caused by Jenzer Motorsport’s Matus Ryba touching R-ace Gp’s Enzo Yeh and spinning him into Jan Koller, taking all three out of the race.

The second incident was on the exit of that chicane. This was triggered by Reno Francot going off track and Kean Nakamura-Berta crashed into the outside wall trying to avoid the Dutchman.

Slater overtakes Yamakoshi at the restart

The third incident happened at the Villeneuve chicane, taking out both Kamal Mrad and Ethan Ischer.

The race resumed with 20 minutes remaining and Freddie Slater quickly passed Hiyu Yamakoshi for the lead before the first braking zone.

However, it was neutralized once again as PHM’s Everett Stack spun off at the Tamburello chicane, nearly collecting another driver and getting stuck in the gravel.

On the restart, Yamakoshi struggled once again and was nearly passed by Akshay Bohra, but the Japanese driver quickly regained his speed, setting fastest lap after fastest lap trying to catch the Prema of Freddie Slater.

Close to the end, US Racing’s Kabir Anurag pulled into the pits with a mechanical issue, retiring shortly after.

Freddie Slater held off the Van Amersfoort driver to take the win ahead of Yamakoshi and Akshay Bohra.

Further down the field, Rashid Al Dhaheri finished P9 and Shimo Zhang P15.

Race one’s top 10 finishers

  • Freddie Slater (GBR), Prema Racing – Winner
  • Hiyu Yamakoshi (JPN), Van Amersfoort Racing – P2
  • Akshay Bohra (IND), US Racing – P3
  • Dion Gowda (IND), Prema Racing – P4
  • Jack Beeton (AUS), US Racing – P5
  • Tomass Stolcermanis (LVA), Prema Racing – P6
  • Maxim Rehm (DEU), US Racing – P7
  • Gustav Jonsson (SWE), Van Amersfoort Racing – P8
  • Rashid Al Dhaheri (UAE), Prema Racing – P9
  • Emanuele Olivieri (ITA), AKM Motorsport – P10

Header photo credit: ACI Sport



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here