Asian Motorsport reviews the action from race one of the second round of Super Formula Lights at SUGO.

by Marco Albertini

Race one of the second round of the 2024 Super Formula Lights season was held at 15:35 local time.

Syun Koide started on pole, alongside Kaylen Frederick, and maintained the lead at the start, as Frederick had to defend from three cars attempting to overtake around the outside of the first corner. One of those cars was the TOM’S of Jin Nakamura who had a lightning start, jumping from fourth to third and overtaking Rin Arakawa, nearly getting second from the American.

Another driver who had an impressive start was the other TOM’S of Seita Nonaka who started eighth and jumped to sixth by the end of the first sector. As soon as the second lap started, Nonaka was already attacking teammate Yuga Furutani, overtaking the Hiroshima native around the outside of the first two corners to take fifth position.

Behind them, their teammate Rikuto Kobayashi was attacking Toda Racing’s Souta Arao for seventh position, an attack that wouldn’t go well for the Yamagata native, attempting to overtake around the outside of the first corner but taking a small trip to the gravel, allowing Arao to keep the position.

Around the halfway mark, rookie Jin Nakamura caught up to the B-Max of Kaylen Frederick, attempting to overtake the American around the outside of the first corner. However, he was unable to put himself alongside at the apex as Frederick successfully defended his position.

A lap later, Nakamura managed to get alongside Frederick on the main straight, overtaking him before the braking zone to move up into second place. As Nakamura pulled away, Frederick was soon under attack by his teammate, Rin Arakawa, who quickly overtook him for third place, as Seita Nonaka followed him through to take fourth.

After the second corner, Frederick had fallen to eighth position and a few laps later retired in the pits with a likely mechanical failure.

Up at the front, Syun Koide led from lights to flag to take his second win of the season ahead of rookies Jin Nakamura and Rin Arakawa, as championship leader Seita Nonaka held on to fifth ahead of Yuga Furutani and Souta Arao, who took his first point of the season.

In the masters class, Nobuhiro Imada took his fourth consecutive win, ahead of “Dragon” and Makoto Fujiwara.

Super Formula Lights overall drivers’ championship

  1. Seita Nonaka (TOM’S) – 28
  2. Syun Koide (B-Max Racing Team) – 24
  3. Jin Nakamura (TOM’S) – 14
  4. Kaylen Frederick (B-Max Racing Team) – 14
  5. Rikuto Kobayashi (TOM’S) – 13
  6. Rin Arakawa (Team Dragon) – 13
  7. Yuga Furutani (TOM’S) – 8
  8. Souta Arao (TODA Racing) – 1
  9. Nobuhiro Imada (JMS Racing Team) – 0
  10. Dragon (Team Dragon) – 0
  11. Yasuhiro Shimizu (GNSY Racing) – 0
  12. Makoto Fujiwara (Team Dragon) – 0

Super Formula Lights masters’ championship

  1. Nobuhiro Imada (JMS Racing Team) – 44
  2. Dragon (Team Dragon) – 28
  3. Yasuhiro Shimizu (GNSY Racing) – 13
  4. Makoto Fujiwara (Team Dragon) – 5

Super Formula Lights teams’ championship

  1. TOM’S – 34
  2. B-Max Racing Team – 30
  3. Team Dragon (B-Max)– 8
  4. Toda Racing – 1
  5. JMS Racing Team (B-Max) – 0
  6. GNSY Racing (B-Max) – 0

Header image credit: Super Formula Lights


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here