Home Drivers: India More points for Daruvala in second Berlin E-Prix

More points for Daruvala in second Berlin E-Prix

Jehan Daruvala, Maserati MSG Racing, Maserati Tipo Folgore

After a thrilling race on Saturday, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship did it all again on Sunday with the second Berlin E-Prix. Asian Motorsport reviews all the action from Round 10.

By Seb Tirado

Free Practice 3

Jehan Daruvala during FP3 | Credit: Formula E

FP3 would see Jehan Daruvala finish up in an impressive 4th with a 1:02.068, just ahead of his teammate Maximilian Günther. The ERT of Dan Ticktum would finish up in 10th with Saturday’s pole-sitter Edoardo Mortara in 12th with a 1:02.274 and a 1:02.328 respectively. Their teammates would finish in 22nd and 14th with a 1:02.890 and a 1:02.457. In-between them would come the Nissans of Sacha Fenestraz in 16th and Oliver Rowland in 17th with a 1:02.589 and a 1:02.606 respectively. 


Group A would have Mortara, Rowland and Ticktum. Mortara would once again progress through to the duels in 4th with a 1:02.655. Rowland would be eliminated in 8th with a 1:02.757, qualifying 16th. Ticktum would be eliminated in 9th with a 1:02.789 but would qualify in 22nd due to being handed a 40-place grid penalty and a 10-second stop-and-go penalty for having his gearbox and motor control unit changed. 

Group B would have Daruvala, Sette Câmara, Fenestraz and King, all of whom would be eliminated. Daruvala would finish in 7th with a 1:02.693, qualifying 13th. Sette Câmara would finish in 8th with a 1:02.761, qualifying 15th. Fenestraz would finish in 9th with a 1:02.827, qualifying 17th and King would finish in 11th with a 1:03.034, qualifying 20th

Edoardo Mortara pictured during FP3 | Credit: Formula E

Mortara would be eliminated in his quarter-final against championship leader Nick Cassidy, qualifying 8th. However, he would later be promoted to 7th after Stoffel Vandoorne was penalised for having an underweight car during the duels. 

Berlin E-Prix

Mortara would once again hold station at the start of the race whilst Sette Câmara would fall down the pack. Ticktum would come in to serve his stop-and-go penalty at the end of the lap and Daruvala, who suffered a similar penalty on Saturday, would start moving closer to the top 10 on Lap 2.

On Lap 3, Daruvala would take his first Attack Mode and elect for a 3-1min strategy along with both Nissans, ERTs and King who all elected for a 1-3min strategy. The Nissans would take their second Attack Modes on the subsequent lap in a bid to be rid of their activations sooner rather than later. 

After being shuffled down as he took his Attack Mode, Daruvala would return to 10th as his teammate Maximilian Günther took his own first activation on Lap 6, but the Indian driver would soon be overtaken by Lucas di Grassi as they went into T12. On Lap 8, Rowland would make his way into the top 10 and reach up to 6th by the subsequent lap.

Daruvala would take his second Attack Mode on Lap 10 as Mortara pushed his way up to 5th ahead of Rowland and Jake Dennis. However, he would run into the back of Cassidy into T7 that same lap, falling back behind his two competitors as a result.

Fenestraz would overtake Stoffel Vandoorne for 10th on Lap 11 just before the Safety Car came out for Günther’s incident. The restart at the end of Lap 14 would see a dogged defence from Rowland against Dennis for 5th before launching an attack on António Félix Da Costa for 3rd. He would get past the Porsche driver heading through T5 and momentarily go into 2nd with an attempt around the outside of Pascal Wehrlein into T9. Elsewhere, his teammate would fight against both DS Penskes for 10th and Mortara would try to overtake Norman Nato for 7th

Jehan Daruvala behind Stoffel Vandoorne and ahead of Lucas di Grassi after the Safety Car | Credit: Formula E

Mortara would finally take his first Attack Mode on Lap 20, electing for a 3-1min strategy as Rowland and Fenestraz moved up to 3rd and 8th. However, Fenestraz would be sandwiched by the DS Penskes into T9 with Vandoorne sideswiping him into Jean-Éric Vergne. He would avoid any damage to his Nissan and would retake 8th away from Vergne by Lap 22.

At the start of Lap 25, Mortara would suffer a puncture and force him to swiftly pit. Fenestraz would be crashed out of the race by Nato heading out of T3, causing the second Safety Car of the race, with Rowland moving up to 2nd and Daruvala would moving up to 9th just before it was called.

Mortara and Sette Câmara would take their second Attack Modes after the race restarted at the end of Lap 28 and Daruvala would start battling the McLaren of Taylor Barnard for 9th. Cassidy would overtake Rowland for 3rd on Lap 31, but the Briton would soon retake the position a few laps later on Lap 34 heading into T9. He would then shuffle into 2nd on Lap 36 as Cassidy battled with his teammate Mitch Evans. 

Cassidy would overtake Rowland for the last time on Lap 40 as they headed into T5. After defending from Joel Eriksson on the final few laps, Daruvala would slip by Barnard on the final lap of the race as they went through T13 to finish in 7th.

Oliver Rowland would take his sixth podium of the season and his fourth 3rd place finish | Credit: Formula E

Rowland would once again finish 3rd, making up 13 positions to take the ABB Driver of Progress award for the third consecutive race. After an unfortunate end to his race on Saturday, Daruvala would achieve his best finish of the season in 7th. Sette Câmara and Ticktum would finish in 13th and 17th after a quiet race for ERT whilst Mortara would manage to recover to finish 16th. After finishing 12th in the first race, King would finish his debut weekend in 18th

Formula E Drivers’ Championship Top 10

  1. Nick Cassidy (Jaguar) – 140
  2. Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche) – 124
  3. Oliver Rowland (Nissan) – 118
  4. Jake Dennis (Andretti) – 102
  5. Mitch Evans (Jaguar) – 97
  6. Jean-Éric Vergne (DS Penske) – 84
  7. Maximilian Günther (Maserati) – 65 
  8. António Félix Da Costa (Porsche) – 59
  9. Stoffel Vandoorne (DS Penske) – 43 
  10. Sam Bird (McLaren) – 38

Formula E Teams’ Championship Top 5

  1. Jaguar TCS Racing – 237
  2. Tag Heuer Porsche – 183
  3. Nissan – 144
  4. DS Penske – 127
  5. Andretti – 126

Formula E Manufacturers’ Trophy

  1. Porsche (Porsche/Andretti) – 267
  2. Jaguar (Jaguar/Envision) – 266
  3. Nissan (Nissan/NEOM McLaren) – 202
  4. Stellantis (DS Penske/Maserati) – 186
  5. Mahindra (Mahindra/ABT Cupra) – 26
  6. Electric Racing Technologies (ERT) – 23

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship returns to mainland China for a debut weekend at the Shanghai International Circuit on May 25-26th for Rounds 11 and 12. 

Header image credit: Formula E



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here