The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship has never failed to put on a good show when it comes to racing on the iconic Circuit de Monaco, and this year proved no exception. Asian Motorsport reviews all the action from last week’s round.

By Seb Tirado

Free Practice 1 & 2

Daruvala during FP1 | Credit: Formula E

A condensed race-day schedule would see a very early FP1 on Saturday morning. The Mahindras of Mortara and de Vries would go a respectable 7th and 8th with a 1:31.566 and a 1:31.725. Ticktum would finish 15th with a 1:32.223, ahead of Rowland in 16th who had a small spin at the Fairmont Hairpin at the end of the session, finishing with a 1:32.345. Their teammates Sette Câmara and Fenestraz would finish 22nd and 19thwith a 1:42.077 and a 1:32.718 respectively. Jehan Daruvala, who finished on the podium twice before in Monaco in Formula 2, would finish in-between them in 20th with a 1:33.030.

FP2 just over an hour later would see Sette Câmara lose running time after suffering more technical issues. He would finish in 21st with a 1:31.376, with Ticktum finishing an impressive 6th with a 1:30.087. Just behind the Briton was Rowland in 7th with a 1:30.174, with his teammate Fenestraz finishing 17th with a 1:30.854. Mortara would finish 12th with a 1:30.452, with de Vries finishing in 9th with a 1:30.418. Daruvala would finish just behind Mortara in 13th with a 1:30.487.


Group A would have Rowland, Sette Câmara and de Vries and Group B would have Fenestraz, Ticktum, Mortara and Daruvala. All the drivers would be eliminated from their groups.

Daruvala during the group stages of Qualifying | Credit: Formula E

For Nissan, Rowland would finish 9th with a 1:31.347, qualifying 15th. Fenestraz would finish 7th with a 1:31.083, qualifying 14th. For ERT, Sette Câmara would finish 6th with a 1:31.188, qualifying 11th. Ticktum would finish 10th with a 1:31.600, qualifying 20th. For Mahindra, de Vries would finish 8th with a 1:31.279, qualifying 13th. Mortara would finish 6th with a 1:31.042, qualifying 12th. Lastly, Daruvala would finish 5th with a 1:31.010 and qualify in 10th, qualifying in the top ten for the first time since the second Diriyah E-Prix.

Monaco E-Prix

De Vries chasing Ticktum during the E-Prix | Credit: Formula E

The run down to Sainte Dévote would see the two Nissans sandwich de Vries, with Fenestraz clipping the Mahindra’s front wing with his right-rear tyre. De Vries and Ticktum would take their first Attack Modes on Lap 3, electing for a 4-4min and 6-2min strategy respectively. Elsewhere, Sette Câmara would lunge down the inside of Daruvala into Tabac for 9th. Sette Câmara would similarly lunge into the Fairmont hairpin on Lap 4, barging Sébastien Buemi and António Félix Da Costa into the outside wall, which would later give him a 5-second penalty.

Fenestraz would take his first Attack Mode on the same lap, electing for a 2-6min strategy. Soon after however, Mortara would heavily understeer into T13 due to a technical problem whilst battling Ticktum for 14th, taking him out in the race and causing the Safety Car to be deployed on Lap 5. Jake Hughes would run into the back of Sette Câmara at the hairpin as the pack slowed, with the NEOM McLaren losing its front wing. The race would resume at the end of Lap 8, with Rowland, who was up to 9th by this point, swiftly taking his first 2 minutes of Attack Mode to move further up the pack.

Daruvala going up Beau Rivage during the E-Prix | Credit: Maserati MSG Racing

Daruvala would make opportunistic moves on Sette Câmara through Antony Noghès on Lap 9 and on Robin Frijns heading into Sainte Dévote on Lap 10 on his way up to 8th. Shortly after, Sette Câmara and his teammate would take their Attack Modes, with the Brazilian driver electing for a 2-6min strategy. Rowland would take his second Attack Mode a lap later, falling behind Daruvala but soon getting past again heading into the Nouvelle chicane. However, trouble would soon come the way of the Indian driver as he suffered technical issues activating his Attack Mode, falling back the grid each time he attempted to.

De Vries would momentarily move into the points as he took advantage of the resultant concertina effect of Lucas di Grassi hitting the side of Fenestraz heading out of the hairpin. Fenestraz would take his second Attack Mode on Lap 17, as would de Vries a lap later after he fell back out of the points. Heading into the final 10 laps of the race, the Nissans would battle Da Costa and Daruvala’s teammate Maximilian Günther for the final points-paying positions of the race, with the Porsche driver barging Rowland for 6th heading out of the hairpin. Daruvala would keep trying to activate his Attack Mode after another short Safety Car period, but to no avail.

With a double-points finish, Nissan are now one point away from Andretti in the Teams’ Standings | Credit: Formula E

In the end, Rowland and Fenestraz would solidly finish in the points in 6thand 8th respectively, with Rowland being given the ABB Driver of Progress award for gaining 9 positions in the race. De Vries would achieve a season-best finish of 12th, a small positive in another disappointing weekend for Mahindra. Ticktum would finish behind the Dutchman in 13th with his teammate in 18th. Daruvala would finish 18thon the road but would be demoted to 20th after being given a 48-second penalty for failing to activate Attack Mode, although would achieve the Fastest Lap of the race with a 1:31.062. However, he would not receive the associated championship point due to finishing outside of the Top 10.

Formula E Drivers’ Championship Top 10

  1. Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche) – 102
  2. Nick Cassidy (Jaguar) – 95
  3. Jake Dennis (Andretti) – 89
  4. Oliver Rowland (Nissan) – 88
  5. Mitch Evans (Jaguar) – 77
  6. Maximilian Günther (Maserati) – 65
  7. Jean-Éric Vergne (DS Penske) – 65
  8. Sam Bird (McLaren) – 38
  9. Stoffel Vandoorne (DS Penske) – 37
  10. António Félix Da Costa (Porsche) – 26

Formula E Teams’ Championship Top 5

  1. Jaguar TCS Racing – 172
  2. Tag Heuer Porsche – 128
  3. Andretti – 113
  4. Nissan – 112
  5. DS Penske – 102

Formula E Manufacturers’ Trophy

  1. Porsche (Porsche/Andretti) – 209
  2. Jaguar (Jaguar/Envision) – 201
  3. Nissan (Nissan/NEOM McLaren) – 166
  4. Stellantis (DS Penske/Maserati) – 155
  5. Electric Racing Technologies (ERT) – 23
  6. Mahindra (Mahindra/ABT Cupra) – 19

Rounds 9 and 10 of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship sees the series return to Berlin Tempelhof on May 11-12th.

Header photo credit: Formula E


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here