After Evans and Jaguar’s calculated victory in Round 11, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship did it all again on Sunday for the second race of the Shanghai E-Prix weekend. Asian Motorsport reviews all the action from Round 12 of the season at the Shanghai International Circuit.

By Seb Tirado

Free Practice 3

Dan Ticktum on track during FP3 | Credit: Formula E

Sunday’s session would see championship leader Nick Cassidy take fastest honours with a 1:13.500, ahead of Dan Ticktum in a promising 2nd for ERT with a 1:13.589. His teammate Sérgio Sette Câmara would finish in 16th with a 1:13.987, ahead of the Mahindras of Nyck de Vries and Edoardo Mortara in 18th and 19th with a 1:14.138 and a 1:14.320 respectively. Oliver Rowland would finish in 14th with a 1:13.942 and Sacha Fenestraz would finish down in 21st with a 1:14.529. Lastly, Jehan Daruvala would finish in mid-pack in 10th with a 1:13.829. 


Rowland would top Group A with a 1:14.640 with de Vries in 4th, progressing through to the duels for the first time in 2024 with a 1:14.654. Fenestraz and Daruvala would be eliminated in 6th and 9th and ultimately qualify 12th and 16th. Ticktum would be eliminated in 7th but would qualify in 18th after having his fastest lap time deleted where he cut T11.

Jake Hughes would again top Group B with a 1:14.308 and Round 11’s polesitter Jean-Éric Vergne would make a surprise exit from qualifying in 5th with a 1:14.631. Sette Câmara and Mortara would also be eliminated in 8th and 11th, qualifying in 15th and 21st.

Another surprise exit would come from Rowland after he was eliminated from the duels by de Vries with a 1:13.827. The Nissan driver would ultimately qualify in 8th after setting the slowest lap of the quarter-finals with a 1:14.009. 

In the semi-finals, Stoffel Vandoorne would eliminate de Vries with a 1:13.854, qualifying him 4th on the grid.

Jake Hughes with his Julius Baer Pole Position Award | Credit: Formula E

Pole Position for the race would eventually go the way of Hughes by one thousandth of a second with a 1:13.921.

Shanghai E-Prix

De Vries would try to defend against a hard-charging Nato but would lose out of the Andretti driver coming out of T3 whilst Vandoorne would overtake Hughes going into T6 to take the lead of the race. The Nissans would fall back from the start along with Daruvala and Sette Câmara whilst Ticktum and Mortara would make small gains in the first lap. 

Stoffel Vandoorne leading Jake Hughes, António Félix Da Costa and Norman Nato on Lap 2 | Credit: Formula E

Both Mahindras would take their first Attack Modes on Lap 3, with both drivers electing for a 2-4min strategy. Ticktum and Daruvala would also take their first activations on the same lap, electing for a 4-2min strategy. Ticktum’s teammate would take his first Attack Mode on Lap 5 with the same strategy, along with Rowland who elected for a 2-4min strategy. 

De Vries taking his second Attack Mode on the same lap would trigger a flurry of drivers taking their own second activations. Mortara would take his second one on Lap 6, with Rowland and Daruvala taking theirs a lap later. Ticktum would take his second activation on Lap 8 and Fenestraz would take his second one a lap later after taking his first Attack Mode on Lap 6.

Nyck de Vries battling with Jean-Éric Vergne and Maximilian Günther during the race | Credit: Formula E

De Vries would start shuffling to the fringes of the points when trouble suddenly came for Pascal Wehrlein on Lap 11 as he suffered a rear-left puncture after making slight contact with Sam Bird’s front wing exiting T3. As a result, the Porsche driver had to pit for a new tyre and fell right to the back to the pack. Elsewhere, Rowland would continue shuffling back as far as 15th and Sette Câmara would take his second Attack Mode on Lap 14.

Misfortune would also come for de Vries at the end of Lap 17 when he was sideswiped by Bird going through T10 as the Briton locked up his rear wheels and span down the inside. De Vries would fall to 15th and Bird would retire at the end of Lap 18, later being penalised with a 5-place grid penalty. The other NEOM McLaren of Hughes would also be involved in an incident on Lap 19 as he made slight contact with Nick Cassidy’s front wing in their battle in T1 for 3rd.

António Félix Da Costa atop the podium with Jake Hughes and Norman Nato | Credit: Formula E

In the last few laps, race leader Da Costa would determinedly defend his lead from Hughes, who was in turn defending from Nato. The two Jaguars of Cassidy and Evans would lay in wait in 4th and 5th in a bid to capitalise on any mistakes from the top 3, but the top 3 would ultimately remain as they were, with Da Costa going on to take his second win of the year. Nato would take his maiden podium for Andretti in 3rd as well as the Fastest Lap of the race and Hughes would finish on the podium for the first time in his Formula E career in 2nd

Rowland would finish the race in 10th with his teammate Fenestraz in 14th and Mortara finishing in-between them in 13th. After his impressive result in qualifying, and indeed his result yesterday, de Vries’ lost momentum after his incident with Bird would cause him to finish down in 16th, ahead of Daruvala in 17th who once again had a quiet yet unsuccessful race near the back of the pack. ERT would finish their second home race with Sette Câmara in 18th and Ticktum again the last of the running cars in 21st, with the result adding to an undoubtedly very disappointing weekend for the Chinese team.

Formula E Drivers’ Championship Top 10

  1. Nick Cassidy (Jaguar) – 167
  2. Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche) – 142
  3. Mitch Evans (Jaguar)- 132
  4. Oliver Rowland (Nissan) – 131
  5. Jake Dennis (Andretti) – 113
  6. Jean-Éric Vergne (DS Penske) – 101
  7. António Félix Da Costa (Porsche) – 84 
  8. Maximilian Günther (Maserati) – 69
  9. Stoffel Vandoorne (DS Penske) – 53
  10. Jake Hughes (McLaren) – 46

Formula E Teams’ Championship Top 5

  1. Jaguar TCS Racing – 299
  2. Tag Heuer Porsche – 226
  3. Nissan – 157
  4. DS Penske – 154
  5. Andretti – 153

Formula E Manufacturers’ Trophy

  1. Porsche (Porsche/Andretti) – 337
  2. Jaguar (Jaguar/Envision) – 328
  3. Nissan (Nissan/NEOM McLaren) – 236
  4. Stellantis (DS Penske/Maserati) – 213
  5. Mahindra (Mahindra/ABT Cupra – 33
  6. Electric Racing Technologies (ERT) – 23

Next up, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship returns to the Pacific Northwest of the United States for another doubleheader weekend at the Portland International Raceway.

Header image credit: Formula E


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here