Asian Motorsport reviews the action from the third race of the Italian F4 championship, as Hiyu Yamakoshi agonisingly lost what was on course to be his third race win of the weekend.

By Marco Albertini

Race three of the second round of the FIA Formula 4 Italian Championship was held at 15:45 local time. Yamakoshi was on pole and kept the lead at the start as Freddie Slater overtook Jack Beeton to move up in second place.

As the race drew on, Yamakoshi attempted to pull away from slater, setting many consecutive fastest laps, but Slater was constantly one second behind the Van Amersfoort driver, mostly matching his pace and their laps were very similar throughout the first part of the race.

Further down the top 10, Reno Francot hit Prema’s Rashid Al Dhaheri and spun hit out of the race.

A few laps later, PHM Racing teammates Maximilian Popov hit Davide Larini, spinning the Italian out of the race and bringing the safety car out on track.

An action-packed restart

A classic action-packed Italian F4 restart saw Yamakoshi maintain his lead. Kean Nakamura-Berta overtook Maxim Rehm, but was soon overtaken by Alex Powell, who passed Berta as well.

Nakamura-Berta then hit the gravel at Piratella, making him lose a few places as the battle for the podium intensified. Rookie Italian F4 driver Rehm overtook Alex Powell around the outside of Tamburello, as up ahead Freddie Slater closed in on Hiyu Yamakoshi.

Slater attempted to overtake Yamakoshi but his attempts proved to be unsuccessful.

With three laps to go, Yamakoshi was still holding off Slater. However, this wasn’t to last long. At the Variante Alta chicane, the Japanese driver hit the inside bollard at the first apex, causing his front wing to break. This allowed Slater to take the lead and eventually the win.

Freddie Slater took his fourth win of the season, regaining the Italian F4 championship lead in the process, ahead of Beeton and Rehm.

Akshay Bohra finished in P5, Nakamura-Berta finished in P6, Dion Gowda finished in P11, Enzo Yeh finished P14, and Shimo Zhang finished P16. Further down the field, Kabir Anurag finished P17, Hiyu Yamakoshi fell to P27 at the end, and Rashid Al Dhaheri retired after the aforementioned contact with Francot.

Race three’s top 10 finishers

  • Freddie Slater (GBR), Prema Racing – Winner
  • Jack Beeton (AUS), US Racing – P2
  • Maxim Rehm (DEU), US Racing – P3
  • Alex Powell (JAM), Prema Racing – P4
  • Akshay Bohra (IND), US Racing – P5
  • Kean Nakamura-Berta (JPN), Prema Racing – P6
  • Luka Sammalisto (FIN), R-ace GP – P7
  • Tomass Stolcermanis (LVA), Prema Racing – P8
  • Reno Francot (NLD), Jenzer Motorsport – P9
  • Gustav Jonsson (SWE), Van Amersfoort Racing – P10

Other Asian drivers’ race two results

  • Dion Gowda (IND), Prema Racing – P11
  • Enzo Yeh (TPE), R-ace GP – P14
  • Shimo Zhang (CHN), Jenzer Motorsport – P16
  • Kabir Anurag (SGP), US Racing – P17
  • Hiyu Yamakoshi (JPN), Van Amersfoort Racing – P27
  • Rashid Al Dhaheri (UAE), Prema Racing – Ret

Italian F4 Drivers’ championship standings

  • Freddie Slater (GBR), Prema Racing – 100 points
  • Hiyu Yamakoshi (JPN), Van Amersfoort Racing – 82 points
  • Akshay Bohra (IND), US Racing – 73 points
  • Alex Powell (JAM), Prema Racing – 66 points
  • Jack Beeton (AUS), US Racing – 40 points
  • Dion Gowda (IND), Prema Racing – 38 points
  • Kean Nakamura-Berta (JPN), Prema Racing – 37 points
  • Rashid Al Dhaheri (UAE), Prema Racing – 33 points
  • Tomass Stolcermanis (LVA), Prema Racing – 32 points
  • Gianmarco Pradel (AUS), US Racing – 25 points

Header photo credit: ACI Sport


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here