After an exciting round at Imola, the Italian F4 championships heads to Vallelunga for its third round of the season. Asian Motorsport previews the weekend before the action starts at the circuit near Rome.

by Marco Albertini

Round two of the championship at Imola saw Van Amersfoort driver Hiyu Yamakoshi take the win in Race one from pole position, ahead of Akshay Bohra and Dion Gowda, making it an all-asian podium.

Race two saw Yamakoshi win once again ahead of Bohra and Gowda, as championship rival Freddie Slater encountered problems once again.

Race three was looking like it was going to be another pole-to-win for Yamakoshi, until the final laps where the Japanese driver broke his front wing after hitting a bollard, making him drop out of the points, giving the win to Slater.

Asian drivers and where they currently stand

Japan’s Hiyu Yamakoshi currently sits second in the championship, following his break-through Imola round.

US Racing driver Akshay Bohra is third in the championship, seventeen points behind the lead, with three podiums under his belt.

Prema Racing’s Dion Gowda stands sixth in the standings, fifty one points behind the lead, with two podiums so far this season.

Prema teammate, Kean Nakamura-Berta is one place behind, fifty three points behind first place, with a best result of third in the third race at Misano.

UAE’s Rashid Al Dhaheri, also driving for Prema, is currently eighth in the championship, with a best result of fifth, in the last two races at Misano.

R-ace driver Enzo Yeh sits sixteenth in the championship, with a best result of seventh, in the first race at Misano.

China’s Shimo Zhang sits twenty-second in the championship, yet to score points, with a best result of P13 in the first race at Imola.

Singapore’s Kabir Anurag, driving for US Racing, is also yet to score points, having achieved a best race result of P16 in the third race at Imola.


Weekend schedule

Qualifying 1 – 9:35 UTC+2 June 15th
Qualifying 2 – 10:00 UTC+2 June 15th
Race 1 – 15:45 UTC+2 June 15th

Race 2 – 9:00 UTC+2 June 16th
Race 3 – 14:25 UTC+2 June 16th

Header photo credit: ACI Sport


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here