Hayden Haikal won the TH Super Eco race at Bangsaen Street Circuit with a commanding 13.904 second advantage despite a safety car interruption. Asian Motorsport reviews the action.

By Nida Anis

The 8-lap race began with a standing start involving 34 cars. Early in the race, car #99 driven by Sitanun Pikulkajorn spun and collected car #88 driven by Tanatpong Chaioranwong, blocking the track at Turn 3. After investigating the incident, the stewards decided to take no further action.

After one lap, Hayden Haikal in the #35 Suzuki Swift (V-Are Pro Garage Racing Team x Dyno Dynamics) had built an advantage of 0.642 seconds over Phiranat Nuntamanop. By the end of the second lap, Haikal extended his lead to 2.581 seconds, setting a lap time of 2:07.923, nearly one second faster than his closest competitor’s best lap time of 2:08.724.

With five laps remaining, the safety car was deployed, which closed the field back up. There is an ongoing investigation regarding passing under the safety car during this period.

Despite the interrupts, Hayden Haikal maintained his lead and won the race by a margin of 13.904s ahead of second-placed Ruk Team Nexzter Racing driver Panithan Rakpaibulsombut. Rakpaibulsombut’s teammate, Varunchit Wattanathanakun, finished in third with a gap of 14.142s to Haikal.

The race’s biggest improver in terms of grid positions was Hakim bin Haikal in the #24 Honda Brio (Pipekids Pakero Lubricants Racing Team), who moved up from 14th on the grid to finish 7th.

  1. Hayden Haikal (THA), #35 Suzuki Swift, V-Are Pro Garage Racing Team x Dyno Dynamics, 16:44.122 (ECO All)
  2. Panithan Rakpaibulsombut (THA), #36 Toyota Yaris, Ruk Team Nexzter Racing, +13.904 (ECO C+)
  3. Varunchit Wattanathanakun (THA), #89 Toyota Yaris, Ruk Team Nexzter Racing, +14.142 (ECO C+)
  4. Visitpong Chada (THA), #7 Honda Brio, Taker.Socar Racing, +14.558 (ECO C+)
  5. Phiranat Nuntamanop (THA), #45 Suzuki Swift, V-Are Pro Garage Racing Team – Sunoco, +30.368 (ECO C+)
  6. Kavin Vitayatanagorn (THA), #91 Suzuki Swift, V-Are Pro Garage Racing Team – Dyno Dynamics, +33.674 (ECO C+)
  7. Hakim Bin Haikal (THA), #24 Honda Brio, Pipekids Pakero Lubricants Racing Team, +39.059 (ECO All)
  8. Sathapond Veerachure (THA), #25 Honda Brio, B-Quik Racing Team, +44.432 (ECO C+)
  9. Jade Hemvijitraphan (THA), #12 Suzuki Swift, V-Are Pro Garage Racing Team – Sunoco, +49.669 (ECO C+)
  10. Akkanit Aupamai (THA), #17 Honda Brio, Singha 212 Motor Sport, +57.970 (ECO C+)

Stay tuned to Asian Motorsport for more updates from the 2024 Bangsaen Grand Prix.

Header photo credit: Nida Anis


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here