Round 4 of the Gulf Radical Cup, organised by GulfSport, saw the championship racing alongside the Formula Regional Middle East, F4 UAE, Gulf ProCar, and Hankook 6 Hours of Abu Dhabi, in a spectacular weekend at Yas Marina for racing fans.

GulfSport celebrated a milestone at the event, marking the 20th anniversary of the Distributor Agreement signed with Radical Sportscars. The Gulf Radical Cup, which commenced in January 2006, has since attracted numerous drivers, many venturing into racing for the first time.

The Abu Dhabi grid reflected Radical’s global philosophy, featuring a diverse mix of ambitious young talents and experienced gentlemen drivers from the Americas, Europe, Middle East, and Asia. The four-day event, which saw perfect racing conditions, showcased the evolution of Radical’s ‘Race The World’ approach.

During Friday’s testing, sixteen Radical drivers engaged in a qualifying session, setting the stage for the subsequent Sprint Races. Sixteen-year-old Mexican sensation Ian Aguilera displayed exceptional skill, securing the fastest lap of 1:56.812. The first live-streamed Sprint Race witnessed intense battles, ultimately won by Usmaan Mughal.

In the evening, Sprint Race 2 under the lights was a thrilling showdown, with Mughal claiming his second victory of the day. The main attraction, a 45-minute Endurance Race, saw Aguilera shine once again, facing tough competition from Alex Bukhantsov and Jimmy Chou. Despite safety car interventions, Aguilera triumphed, with Bukhantsov and Chou completing the podium.

The Radical Endurance races featured mandatory pit stops, adding strategic elements to the competition. Aguilera’s outstanding performance, complemented by a strong finish in the Endurance Race, solidified his dominance. Despite a late-race Safety Car, Aguilera secured victory, followed by Bukhantsov and Chou.

The Gulf Radical Cup showcased remarkable skills, with lap times comparable to the fastest F4 and GT cars on the GP circuit. The upcoming round at Dubai Autodrome promises more excitement in four weeks, highlighting the incredible talents in the Gulf Radical community.

Enduro Race Results:

P1 – Ian Aguilera Ituartee (TT Racing)

P2 – Alex Bukhantsov (TT Racing) – +0.974

P3 – Alim Geshev (TT Racing) – +2.693

Sprint Race 1 Results:

P1 – Usmaan Mughal (GulfSport Racing)

P2 – Alex Bukhanstov (TT Racing) – +3.601

P3 – Jimmy Chou (TT Racing) – +4.129

Sprint Race 2 Results:

P1 – Usmaan Mughal (GulfSport Racing)

P2 – Alex Bukhanstov (TT Racing) – +1.344

P3 – Jimmy Chou (TT Racing) – +1.854


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here