Rafael Camara and Mari Boya topped the timesheets for the Thursday Testing sessions. Zachary David secured the top spot in Friday morning’s Free Practice Session.


Testing 1

The first testing session saw Mumbai Falcons’ Camara put in a 1:50.662 to claim P1, a time that would have put him in P8 in the last Yas Marina round’s first Qualifying session.


The top five drivers of the session all set times in the 1:50s, with Mumbai Falcons’ James Wharton missing out by just 0.066 seconds when he set a 1:51.066.

Round 3 race winner, Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael, put in a 1:50.730, followed by Round 4 race winner MP Motorsport’s Nikhil Bohra with a 1:50.817.


Evans GP driver Costa Toparis and Mumbai Falcons’ Ugo Ugochukwu round out the top 5, putting in a 1:50.836 and a 1:50.925, respectively.


Testing 2

Pinnacle Motorsport’s Mari Boya put in a 1:50.038 to secure P1, with a considerable gap of 0.314 seconds to P2.


Championship leader Tuukka Taponen sits in P2 with a 1:50.352, 0.7 seconds off of the R-ace GP driver’s last pole position at Yas Marina in Round 2.

The top ten drivers all made it into the 1:50s, including Pinnacle Motorsport’s Alexander Abkhazava, recording his best testing time of the season on the GP layout of Yas Marina, with a 1:50.912.


Wharton and Nael complete the top four, with a 1:50.410 and a 1:50.546, respectively.


Free Practice

R-ace GP’s Zachary David secured P1 in Free Practice with a competitive 1:49.859 – a time that would have put him on pole in the first qualifying session of the last Yas Marina round.


Only three drivers broke into the 1:49s in this session. Ugochukwu secured P2 with a 1:49.891, and Taponen followed behind with a 1:49.901.

Boya, who led the second testing session yesterday, just missed out on the top three with a 1:50.050. Toparis trailed 0.210 seconds behind with a 1:50.260.


The session was highly competitive, with the top fourteen drivers all within 1.020 seconds of each other.


Camara was notably absent from the session, only completing three laps. His fastest lap was a 1:58.055.


Qualifying 1 and 2 will follow later today, with the first sessions starting at 13:00 local time (GMT +04).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here