Mumbai Falcons driver Rafael Camara claims his first win of the 2024 F4 UAE season after an intense race, defending hard against his fellow Ferrari Driver Academy racer Tuukka Taponen.


The race start saw a good initial launch from Camara, but Taponen had an even better launch, taking the lead from Camara into Turn 1. Taponen had a bad exit later on in the lap, leaving an opportunity for Camara to take his lead back.


Pinnacle Motorsport’s Mari Boya had a rocket start from fourth, coming up to third and trying to find more in the opening lap but falling short after PHM AIX’s Taylor Barnard made a move down the inside for third.

The battle for first continued as Taponen made a move down the inside of Camara, pushing Camara off the track where he rejoined in second. The pair continued to battle it out throughout the race, but it was Camara who came up successful in the end, claiming his first win of the season.


In an attempt to take both Camara and Taponen in one corner, Barnard went wide and lost his position, falling to fourth. PHM AIX’s Brando Badoer managed to squeeze his way into the fight, taking fourth from Boya.


The top five settled down as R-ace GP’s Martinius Stenshorne carried out a lonely race in sixth place, a large gap in front and behind him.

Behind him was a battle for seventh between Mumbai Falcons’ Arvid Lindblad and MP Motorsport’s Bruno Del Pino, ultimately won by Lindblad. Following closely behind was PHM AIX’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak and Mumbai Falcons’ James Wharton, both drivers looking for an opportunity to capitalise on the battles up ahead. In the end, it was Wharton who got the better exit, passing Del Pino and moving up to seventh.


A series of retirements in the closing stages of the race brought out the safety car, neutralising the fight for P1 and securing the win for Camara as the race finished under safety car conditions. Taponen and Badoer completed the podium in P2 and P3, respectively.


Boya came to a halt on the final turn, having to retire his car due to a suspected puncture and hurting his chances in the championship.

Boya’s retirement promoted Lindblad to P5 before the Red Bull Junior driver also came to a halt with only a few laps to go. Lindblad parked his car to the side of the circuit after being forced to retire due to a technical failure.


R-ace GP’s Jesse Carresquedo spun out in the final corner, bringing out the safety car that would ultimately end the race.


The race ended with Camara, Taponen, and Badoer on the podium. Barnard, Wharton and Stenshorne completed the next three positions, and Del Pino, Bohra, Inthraphuvasak, and Mumbai Falcons’ Ugo Ugochukwu rounded out the top ten finishers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here