Nikhil Bohra claimed his maiden win with MP Motorsport, emerging victorious in the chaos of the second race of the Formula Regional Middle East Championship.


Bohra, starting from the second position, seized the lead right from the start, capitalising on a slow beginning from reverse-grid polesitter Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael. The early manoeuvre set the tone for Bohra’s dominant performance.


PHM AIX teammates Tasanapol Inthrapuvasak and Luca Badoer secured their places on the podium in P2 and P3, respectively. Despite their efforts, they couldn’t mount a significant challenge to Bohra’s commanding lead.

Inthrapuvasak and Badoer engaged in an on-track battle, overtaking Nael on lap two. This duel added a layer of excitement to the race, as Bohra steadily built a substantial lead at the front.


Nael faced difficulties maintaining pace, and the pressure from R-ace GP’s Martinius Stenshorne resulted in both drivers running off-track at turn 11. This incident reshuffled the mid-field order, allowing Mumbai Falcons teammates Ugo Ugochukwu and Rafael Camara, as well as Pinnacle Motorsport’s Mari Boya, to make significant moves up the ranks. The three drivers finished P4, P5, and P6.


The mid-race saw PHM AIX’s Taylor Barnard and R-ace GP’s Tuukka Taponen tussle for the eighth position, with Taponen ultimately emerging victorious. Meanwhile, Nael continued to lose positions and, unfortunately, had to retire from the race, dropping out of the points.

A fiercely contested battle unfolded in the rear half of the pack, involving drivers like Sainteloc Racing’s Noah Stromsted and R-ace GP’s Zachary David. Despite the challenges, the race continued without the need for a safety car.


Evans GP’s John Bennett made contact with Pinnacle Motorsport’s Giovanni Maschio, creating a moment of tension. However, both drivers managed to rejoin the race without necessitating a safety car intervention. In the penultimate lap, Camara attempted a pass on Ugochukwu, adding a final dose of drama, but the move couldn’t stick.


Nikhil Bohra’s masterful performance amid the chaos showcased his skill and composure. The podium was completed by Inthraphuvasak and Badoer in P2 and P3, respectively.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here