Tuukka Taponen puts it on pole for both Qualifying sessions in the final round of the 2024 Formula Regional Middle East Championship. The R-ace GP driver’s pole lap for Qualifying 1 was a considerable 0.415 seconds ahead of P2, with a 1:55.071. Qualifying 2 saw Brando Badoer close that gap, but Taponen still secured pole by 0.109 seconds with a time of 1:54.723.


Qualifying 1

PHM AIX’s Brando Badoer secured P2 by 0.030 seconds, with a time of 1:55.486, which will see him starting on the front row for Race 1 later today.


Mumbai Falcons’ Ugo Ugochukwu starts in P3 after clocking in at 1:55.516, with R-ace GP’s Zachary David 0.047 seconds behind him. David’s time of 1:55.551 has him rounding out the second row.


With a gap of just 0.004 seconds to P4, Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael puts himself in P5 with a 1:55.598. Mumbai Falcons’ Rafael Camara sits just behind him by 0.004 seconds, his time of 1:55.602 leaving him in P6.


MP Motorsport’s Bruno Del Pino, Mumbai Falcons’ James Wharton, PHM AIX’s Tasanapol Inthraphuvasak, and MP Motorsport’s Emerson Fittipaldi complete the top ten. Pinnacle Motorsport’s Mari Boya misses out on the top ten by just 0.005 seconds, but his P11 start puts him in a favourable position for the coveted P10 position, which would grant him the reverse-grid pole in Race 2.


Qualifying 2

Badoer repeats his Qualifying 1 performance with a 1:54.832, putting him on the front row just behind pole sitter Taponen.


The second row sees Del Pino in third with a 1:54.996, only 0.012 seconds up from fourth. Nael rounds out the second row with a 1:55.008.


Championship contender PHM AIX’s Taylor Barnard qualified P5 with a 1:55.051, 0.139 ahead of David in P6.


Inthraphuvasak, Ugochukwu, Wharton, and Evans GP’s Costa Toparis complete the top ten, with Boya claiming another P11.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here