The first of two qualifying sessions saw R-ace GP’s Tuukka Taponen claim his pole position with a definitive 1:49.652. The Finnish driver held a considerable margin over the rest of the grid, with a difference of 0.369 seconds to P2.


PHM AIX’s Taylor Barnard continued his dominant performance with a 1:50.270, putting him in P2 by just 0.043 seconds up on P3. Pinnacle Motorsport’s Mari Boya rounded out the top 3 with a 1:50.313.

R-ace GP’s Martinius Stenshorne followed by just 0.052 seconds, securing P4 with a 1:50.365 and besting Sainteloc Racing’s Theophile Nael by 0.031 seconds. Nael put in a 1:50.396, putting him in P5 and alongside his teammate Matteo de Palo, whose 1:50.612 put him in P6.


Race 2 winner from Round 1, Mumbai Falcon’s Arvid Lindblad, struggled to find tenths as his 1:50.972 put him back in P17. Evans GP’s driver Costa Toparis also struggled to find pace after topping the timesheets in Free Practice earlier that morning. Toparis initially qualified in P13 with a 1:50.900, only 0.044 seconds behind his teammate John Bennett, who did a 1:50.856 to secure P12.


Several drivers faced track limit infringements, including top runners Nael, Toparis, and Lindblad.

In a separate incident, Toparis was found to be running without a nose cover, even after coming into the pits. The Evans GP drive was released from the pits without his car’s nose cover, resulting in a fine and a three-place grid drop for Race 1, taking him from P13 to P16.


The second qualifying session saw a double pole for Taponen, claiming P1 by 0.070 seconds with a 1:49.652. Barnard also put in a repeat performance to secure P2 with a 1:49.722. Nael rounds out the top three with a 1:49.879 which puts him in P3.


Mumbai Falcon’s James Wharton was able to improve on his performance from the first qualifying session, locking out the second row and securing P4 with a 1:49.887. Stenshorne continued to show his fast qualifying pace with a 1:50.048 that left him in P5.

Lindblad secured P10 with a 1:50.545, 0.269 seconds behind P9.


The stewards were kept busy in the second Qualifying session, with more track limit infringements affecting drivers such as Barnard, De Palo, Lindblad, Nael, Boya, and Toparis.


The Evans GP team couldn’t catch a break, with Benett being found to have impeded car 14, De Palo, at turn 12, resulting in a three-place grid drop for Race 3 that takes him from P12 to P15, and bumping his teammate Toparis up from P15 to P14.

R&B Racing’s Wang Zhongwei received a reprimand from the stewards after he lost control at the beginning of the second qualifying session and crossed the blend line at the pit exit.


Race 1 Pole: Tuukka Taponen

Race 2 Pole: Reverse grid for top 12, based on Race 1 finish positions

Race 3 Pole: Tuukka Taponen


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here