Formula E has officially announced the cancellation of the 2024 Hyderabad E-Prix, following a decision by Telangana’s Municipal Administration and Urban Development Department (MAUD).

By Seb Tirado

Formula E Operations published a statement indicating that MAUD had decided “not to fulfil the Host City Agreement signed on 30 October 2023”. This was a multi-year agreement between the championship and the Government of Telangana to host the race in the region.

The statement also said that Formula E Operations (FEO) had “been left with no choice other than to formally give notice to MAUD that it is in breach of contract”, and that “FEO [were] considering its position” under the Host City Agreement. Therefore, it is possible that Formula E is considering legal action against the Government of Telangana.

Formula E bosses “extremely disappointed” at “deeply frustrating” situation

Formula E Co-Founder Alberto Longo expressed great disappointment in the decision. “We are extremely disappointed for the huge motorsport fanbase in India. We know that hosting an official motorsport world championship race is an important and prestigious occasion for Hyderabad and the whole country.

“The President of the Federation of Motor Sports Clubs of India (FMSCI), Akbar Ebrahim, and his team have been incredibly supportive in bringing Formula E back to Hyderabad. They share our disappointment in the decision of the Government of Telangana, which means that will not happen.”

Formula E CEO Jeff Dodds also expressed similar views. “It is deeply frustrating that we cannot build on the success of the inaugural race last year, which delivered almost 84m USD in positive economic impact to the region.”

“We are also disappointed for our major Indian partners, particularly Mahindra and Tata Communications. Racing in Hyderabad was important to showcase the benefits of adopting electric vehicles in a market where pollution from vehicle engines has a massive impact on public health and the environment.”

Revised Season 10 calendar drops down to 16 races

As a result, there is now a 7-week gap between Diriyah and São Paulo, and the Season 10 calendar drops down to 16 races:

  • R1 – Mexico City (13 January)
  • R2/3 – Diriyah (26-27 January)
  • R4 – São Paulo (16 March)
  • R5 – Tokyo (30 March)
  • R6/7 – Misano Adriatico (13-14 April)
  • R8 – Monaco (27 April)
  • R9/10 – Berlin (11-12 May)
  • R11/12 – Shanghai (25-26 May)
  • R13/14 – Portland (29-30 June)
  • R15/16 – London (20-21 July)

Header photo credit: ABB Group


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here