After a chaotic previous round of the Eurocup-3 season, the championship heads to Le Castellet for its fourth round. Asian Motorsport previews the weekend before the action starts at Portimao.

By Marco Albertini

Round three of the championship at Algarve saw Singaporean driver Christian Ho take victories in the first two races of the weekend, retiring from the lead in the third race following a mechanical issue, handing the victory to Kazakhstan’s Alexander Abkhazava, who held off Javier Sagrera to take his maiden win in single-seaters.

Elsewhere, MP motorsport driver Owen Tangavelou finished all three races in the top 5 to get himself in a three way tie for first in the championship as Campos driver Michael Shin scored a podium in race two, finishing ahead of the aforementioned Owen Tangavelou.

Asian drivers and where they currently stand

Owen Tangavelou (VNM), driving for MP Motorsport sits third in the championship, tied with teammates Javier Sagrera and Bruno del Pino for the championship lead.

Christian Ho (SGP) is currently fourth in the championship, thirteen points behind Sagrera, following his dominating Portimao round.

Alexander Abkhazava (KAZ) currently sits fifth in the championship with two podiums to his name, including the aforementioned win in the third race last time out.

Michael Shin (KOR), driving for Campos Racing is eighth in the standings with a best result of third in the second race last time out.

Where to watch

Eurocup-3 races are free to watch on the Eurocup-3 YouTube channel. All races will be streamed live.

Weekend schedule

Free Practice 1 – 9:45 UTC+2 July 6th
Free Practice 2 – 11:50 UTC+2 July 6th
Qualifying 1 – 15:45 UTC+2 July 6th
Race 1 – 18:00 UTC+2 July 6th

Qualifying 2 – 10:15 UTC+2 July 7th
Race 2 – 13:30 UTC+2 July 7th

Eurocup-3 drivers’ championship standings

  1. Bruno del Pino (ESP), MP Motorsport – 80 points
  2. Javier Sagrera (ESP), MP Motorsport – 80 points
  3. Owen Tangavelou (VNM), MP Motorsport – 80 points
  4. Christian Ho (SGP), Campos Racing – 67 points
  5. Alexander Abkhazava (KAZ), Sainteloc Racing – 63 points
  6. Valentin Kluss (DEU), Campos Racing – 58 points
  7. Emerson Fittipaldi Jr. (BRZ), MP Motorsport – 45 points
  8. Michael Shin (KOR), Campos Racing – 31 points
  9. Kirill Smal (KGZ), Palou Motorsport – 27 points
  10. Jose Garfias (MEX), Sainteloc Racing – 24 points

Header image credit: Eurocup-3


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here