Asian Motorsport reviews the action from races two and three of the third round of Eurocup-3 at Algarve.

By Marco Albertini

Ho leads from lights-to-flag as Shin and Tangavelou score top 5 finishes

Race two of the third round of the Eurocup-3 season was held at 12:00 local time.

Fellow Campos driver Valentin Kluss was on pole, but Christian Ho had the better start and took the lead going into the first corner. Owen Tangavelou also took advantage of Kluss’ slow start and overtook the German at the third turn.

Slightly further down the order, Michael Shin had a scary moment with Noah Lisle, with the South Korean driver locking up the brakes and almost rear-ending the Aussie. The race would get neutralised soon after as the two Drivex cars of Nick Gilkes and Victoria Blokhina collided, bringing out a quick safety car.

On the restart, there was another incident that caused the race to go under Safety Car, as Sainteloc’s Alexander Abkhazava hit the barriers just after the third corner. With ten minutes to go, the race resumed and Tangavelou lost second place to Kluss. The Vietnamese driver couldn’t do anything to fight back as another accident occurred behind him, bringing out another safety car.

The safety car would come in with five minutes left on the clock, and Tangavelou was soon under pressure from Noah Lisle. Lisle forced Tangavelou off track, causing the MP Motorsport driver to lose positions to both Lisle and Michael Shin. He unfortunately wasn’t able once again to respond as Joao Diaz crashed out, bringing out another safety car and causing the race to end under yellow flag conditions.

Christian Ho was unchallenged afrer overtaking Kluss at the start, and held on for the whole race to take his second win of the season. Michael Shin also enjoyed a good race, finishing P4 whilst Owen Tangavelou still managed to salvage a top 5 finish in P5.

Unfortunate retirement for Ho as Tangavelou and Shin take advantage

Race three of the third round of the Eurocup-3 season was held at 14:45 local time.

Christian Ho was on pole but had a bad start, losing the lead to Bruno del Pino as well as being overtaken by Abkhazava. Behind the leaders, Shin was spun by Joao Diaz, with the South Korean driver rejoining the race in last. The Colombian driver would also stop on track, bringing out a safety car.

The safety car period didn’t last long, and Ho was immediately on the attack, overtaking Abkhazava at the first opportunity he had at the hairpin with 18 minutes to go.

Campos’ Noah Lisle then stopped off track, bringing out a safety car that would come in with ten minutes left on the clock. The other Campos of Michael Shin was on a comeback. After being last on the first lap, he overtook Theodor Jensen to take tenth place on the restart.

However, on the other side of the garage, teammate Christian Ho suffered a rear left suspension failure with six minutes to go, forcing him to retire and bringing out another safety car.

Up ahead, Abkhazava would take his first victory in Eurocup-3, with Owen Tangavelou going from eighth to fifth at the flag. Shin went from tenth to sixth, taking valuable points for the championship.

Eurocup-3 drivers’ championship standings

  1. Javier Sagrera (ESP), MP Motorsport – 78 points
  2. Owen Tangavelou (VNM), MP Motorsport – 78 points
  3. Bruno del Pino (ESP), MP Motorsport – 77 points
  4. Christian Ho (SGP), Campos Racing – 66 points
  5. Alexander Abkhazava (KAZ), Sainteloc Racing – 63 points
  6. Valentin Kluss (DEU), Campos Racing – 58 points
  7. Emerson Fittipaldi Jr. (BRZ), MP Motorsport – 44 points
  8. Noah Lisle (AUS), Campos Racing – 29 points
  9. Michael Shin (KOR), Campos Racing – 28 points
  10. Kirill Smal (KGZ), Palou Motorsport – 27 points

Header photo credit: Eurocup-3


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here