After the chaos of last year’s Rome E-Prix, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship sought to find a new Italian venue. In the end, they found a new home at the Misano World Circuit on the shores of the Adriatic Sea. Asian Motorsport reviews all the action from the dramatic first round of the weekend, which saw ERT finally take their first good points haul of the season and Nissan’s run of good fortune continue.

By Seb Tirado

Free Practice 1 & 2

Mahindra’s Edoardo Mortara would not participate in FP1 after his car suffered an unsafe RESS fault after the earlier Rookie Free Practice session, driven by reserve driver Jordan King. His teammate Nyck de Vries would go on to finish 17th in FP1 with a 1:19.232.

Jehan Daruvala leading his teammate Maximilian Günther in FP2 | Credit: Formula E

Jehan Daruvala would score an impressive 4th for Maserati with a 1:17.999, a promising result for his team’s first home race. Elsewhere, the ERTs of Sette Câmara and Dan Ticktum would go 10th and 13th with a 1:18.237 and 1:18.333 respectively and the Nissans of Oliver Rowland and Sacha Fenestraz would go 12th and 16th with a 1:18.276 and 1:18.778 respectively.

Mahindra would manage to resolve Mortara’s issue and send him out for FP2, where he would achieve 12th with a 1:18.138. Sette Câmara would suffer a technical fault early in the session, stranding him on the outside of T10 and causing a red flag after failing to get moving. His teammate would go 18th with a slower 1:18:460. Daruvala and Rowland’s early strong showings would also falter in FP2, finishing in 20th and 21strespectively with a 1:18.682 and 1:18.866. Fenestraz would slightly improve to 14th with a 1:18.175 and de Vries would improve to 16th with a 1:18:387.


Group A would have Daruvala, Rowland, Fenestraz and Sette Câmara and Group B would have Mortara, de Vries and Ticktum. Rowland would progress into the duels for Nissan in 3rd with a 1:18.332, whilst his teammate along with Daruvala and Sette Câmara would be eliminated in 6th, 10th and 11th in group. They would ultimately start 12th, 20th and 21st respectively.

Group B would see all its drivers eliminated, with Mortara 8th in group, Ticktum 9th and de Vries in 11th. They would ultimately start 13th, 15thand 19th respectively.

Rowland driving the Nissan e-4ORCE 04 | Credit: Formula E

Rowland would be eliminated by Pascal Wehrlein in the quarter-finals and would qualify 5th on the grid with a 1:17.704.

Misano E-Prix

The back of the pack heading into the first complex of corners | Credit: Formula E

Mortara’s race would only last three corners when he had to almost immediately retire from the race with a suspected driveshaft issue, a frustrating end to his already average weekend.

With energy management being the name of the peloton game in Misano, there were chaotic shifts in positions in the first two laps. The Nissans would both lose a few positions on the first lap whilst by lap 2, Daruvala would gain up to five places as the pack greatly shuffled. In a bid to take advantage of the shuffling, the two ERTs and the sole remaining Mahindra of de Vries took their first Attack Modes on Lap 3, electing for a 2-6min strategy. Rowland and Daruvala would follow suit with the same strategy a lap later, with Fenestraz a lap after them.

Nyck de Vries during the E-Prix | Credit: Formula E

De Vries, Rowland and the ERTs would all get their second activations done by Lap 13. Rowland would gain the most from this strategy, cycling up to 4th by Lap 14, with de Vries moving up as high as 10th before soon moving back to 14th behind Fenestraz in 13th and Daruvala in 12th. The ERTs would also cycle up close to the top ten, with Ticktum gaining the most and reaching 11th by Lap 17, ahead of his teammate.

Lap 18 would see Sette Câmara cycle into the points for the first time in the race whilst Rowland up ahead would cycle into the lead as those ahead of him took their Attack Modes. Fenestraz would take his second Attack Mode that same lap and push forward into 8th by Lap 20, just as Daruvala took his second Attack Mode. On Lap 22, Ticktum would cycle into the points in 7th ahead of his teammate in 9th, both on track to score ERT’s first double-points finish of the season.

The last five laps of the race would see Rowland defend his lead from the more energy efficient Porsche of António Félix Da Costa, ultimately losing the lead heading into T5 on Lap 26. On the final lap of the race, Ticktum would overtake Evans to finish 6th, later 5th after Jean-Éric Vergne was given his 5-second penalty, achieving his best finish in Formula E. Sette Câmara would finish in 7th to make it a double-points finish, but would later be given a 50-second penalty for overpower that would  drop him to 16th, and would promote Fenestraz from 11th to 10th.

Nevertheless, Ticktum’s points would make ERT leapfrog ABT Cupra for 9th in the Teams’ Championship and Mahindra for 5th in the Manufacturers’ Trophy. De Vries would crash Daruvala out of the race heading into T7 on the last lap, giving the Dutch driver a 5-second penalty and classifying him 15th.

Rowland would also score the Fastest Lap of the E-Prix | Credit: Nissan Formula E Team

Rowland’s P2 finish would make it four consecutive podiums for Nissan, equalling their Season 5 streak under the e.dams name and bringing them even closer to Andretti in 3rd in the Teams’ Championship and Jaguar in 2nd in the Manufacturers’ Trophy. With Nick Cassidy retiring from the race and Pascal Wehrlein finishing well out of the points, Rowland would also take the lead of the Drivers’ Championship.

After the race, race winner António Félix Da Costa would be disqualified for a non-conforming throttle damper spring, promoting Rowland to P1 and giving Nissan their first race win as a factory team since the fifth Berlin E-Prix in 2020, where they won as e.dams. Ticktum, Sette Câmara, de Vries and Fenestraz would all move up one place to their final finishing positions of 4th, 15th, 14th and 9th respectively.

Formula E Drivers’ Championship Top 10

  1. Oliver Rowland (Nissan) – 80
  2. Jake Dennis (Andretti) – 71
  3. Maximilian Günther (Maserati) – 63
  4. Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche) – 63
  5. Nick Cassidy (Jaguar) – 61
  6. Mitch Evans (Jaguar) – 52
  7. Jean-Éric Vergne (DS Penske) – 47
  8. Sam Bird (McLaren) – 37
  9. Norman Nato (Andretti) – 23
  10. Stoffel Vandoorne (DS Penske) – 22

Formula E Teams’ Championship Top 5

  1. Jaguar TCS Racing – 113
  2. Andretti – 94
  3. Nissan – 90
  4. TAG Heuer Porsche – 83
  5. DS Penske – 69

Formula E Manufacturers’ Trophy

  1. Porsche (Porsche/Andretti) – 146
  2. Jaguar (Jaguar/Envision) – 142
  3. Nissan (Nissan/NEOM McLaren) – 137
  4. Stellantis (DS Penske/Maserati) – 120
  5. Electric Racing Technologies (ERT) – 15
  6. Mahindra (Mahindra/ABT Cupra) – 7

The ABB FIA Formula E World Championship does it all again for Round 7 with the second race of the Misano double-header.

Header image credit: Formula E


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here