Last weekend, Chinese Formula 4 made its debut at the Tianfu International Circuit for the second round of the season. The European-style FIA Grade 2 track was originally scheduled to host the championship in October of last year but was not ready for racing at that time.

By Asian Motorsport

Practice Sessions:

Drivers were given two practice sessions to familiarize themselves with the circuit. Oscar Pedersen set the pace in FP2 with a lap time of 1m21.632s, leading Fukang Jiang by 0.103 seconds. Kaishun Liu was third, 0.34s behind Pedersen, and Xizheng Huang was the only other driver within a second of the leader. The top six drivers in the 22-car field were separated by 2.171s.


The competition intensified during qualifying. In Q1, Huang narrowly secured pole position for Race 1 by 0.03s over Pedersen. Jiang was just 0.092s behind in third, while Liu was fourth, 0.725s off pole. The top eight were covered by 1.921s. Pedersen bounced back in Q2 to claim pole for Race 3 with a lap time of 1m21.108s, 0.708s faster than Jiang, who qualified second. Huang and Liu were third and fourth, respectively.

Race 1:

Huang retained his lead at the start, despite sliding out of his grid slot, while Jiang passed Pedersen into Turn 1. Jing Zefeng and Peng Yang collided, with Yang managing to continue. Pedersen regained second place later on lap one, sending Jiang across the runoff and down the order. A safety car was deployed to clear Zefeng’s car, resuming racing on lap six. Pedersen took the lead on lap nine and built a 2.3s advantage. Yi Wang’s attempted double pass at Turn 1 resulted in a spin and Ke Shi’s retirement, prompting another safety car. Pedersen ultimately won by 2.634s over Huang, with Liu and Jiang finishing third and fourth.

Race 2:

Jia Li started on reverse-grid pole but stalled, causing a chaotic start. Jun Fei jumped the start, then stopped on track, and Andy Law also stalled, allowing Siqi Zhang to take the lead. Fei’s car was struck by Albert Cheung, leading to a red flag. The race resumed 20 minutes later with Law leading into Turn 1. Jiang took the lead at the hairpin on lap one, while Jia began losing positions. Pedersen moved into second on lap two, followed by Liu and Jia. Traffic allowed Pedersen to close on Jiang, but a safety car was deployed for Zhenyu Zu’s stopped car, leading to a red flag on lap 12. Jiang held off Pedersen to win after the restart, with Huang third.

Race 3:

Pedersen dominated Race 3, contending with an extended safety car period for Patrick Tsang’s stranded car. Allen Lu’s crash on the restart lap triggered another safety car. Before the caution, Jiang was demoted to fourth by Liu and Huang. Jiang reclaimed third from Liu on lap 15 while Pedersen pulled away, winning by 15.047s.

Race 4:

Yi Wang started on reverse-grid pole, with Liu quickly moving from eighth to second on lap one. Liu took the lead on lap two and extended his advantage, but lapped traffic allowed Huang to close in. On lap 23, Liu and Huang collided, resulting in red flags. Liu managed to cross the line first, but with results taken back a lap and Huang receiving a 10s penalty, Liu secured the victory by 10.423s. Jiang took third from Pedersen on lap 18 as they navigated traffic, with Jia finishing fifth despite a messy race.

Results Round-up:

Race 1 (18 laps):

  1. Oscar Pedersen (Venom Motorsport) – 32m14.180s
  2. Xizheng Huang (Black Blade Racing) – +2.634s
  3. Kaishun Liu (Black Blade Racing) – +3.909s
  4. Fukang Jiang (BlackJack Racing) – +4.297s
  5. Yuzhe Wang (Venom Motorsport) – +9.299s
  6. Zhanbin Jia (Team KRC) – +12.147s
  7. Siqi Zhang (Xiamen Pointer Racing) – +15.186s
  8. Jun Fei (Geeke ACM Racing) – +16.014s
  9. Andy Law (Champ Pro Racing) – +16.167s
  10. Jia Li (Wolf.51GT3.COM) – +18.221s
    Pole: Huang, 1m22.204s
    Fastest lap: Pedersen, 1m21.787s

Race 2 (15 laps):

  1. Fukang Jiang – 32m00.554s
  2. Oscar Pedersen – +0.418s
  3. Xizheng Huang – +1.623s
  4. Kaishun Liu – +6.144s
  5. Zhanbin Jia – +10.317s
  6. Yuzhe Wang – +10.618s
  7. Yi Wang – +17.088s
  8. Ke Shi – +18.893s
  9. Jing Zefeng – +19.243s
  10. Peng Yang – +21.838s
    Fastest lap: Pedersen, 1m22.728s

Race 3 (20 laps):

  1. Oscar Pedersen – 31m31.378s
  2. Xizheng Huang – +15.047s
  3. Kaishun Liu – +15.760s
  4. Fukang Jiang – +16.106s
  5. Yuzhe Wang – +24.612s
  6. Zhanbin Jia – +30.281s
  7. Ke Shi – +33.052s
  8. Siqi Zhang – +35.038s
  9. Jing Zefeng – +40.974s
  10. Yi Wang – +48.563s
    Pole: Pedersen, 1m21.108s
    Fastest lap: Pedersen, 1m21.413s

Race 4 (22 laps):

  1. Kaishun Liu – 30m40.098s
  2. Xizheng Huang – +10.423s
  3. Fukang Jiang – +11.389s
  4. Oscar Pedersen – +19.296s
  5. Zhanbin Jia – +30.241s
  6. Yuzhe Wang – +37.164s
  7. Yi Wang – +41.737s
  8. Ke Shi – +42.161s
  9. Jing Zefeng – +43.712s
  10. Siqi Zhang – +46.830s
    Fastest lap: Huang, 1m22.147s

Championship Standings:

  1. Oscar Pedersen – 110 points
  2. Fukang Jiang – 101 points
  3. Kaishun Liu – 100 points
  4. Xizheng Huang – 69 points
  5. Zhanbin Jia – 40 points
  6. Yuzhe Wang – 36 points
  7. Alex Sawer – 35 points
  8. Ruiqi Liu – 25 points
  9. Jing Zefeng – 20 points
  10. Yi Wang – 20 points


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here