The Asia Classic Car Challenge (ACCC) has kicked off its 2024 season at the Sepang International Circuit. With a four-event calendar featuring two races each weekend, the championship appeals to a wide range of competitors and classic car owners.

By Nida Anis

Billed as “the premier Asian classic car race series”, the ACCC runs as part of the Malaysian Championship Series (MCS), supporting championships including MCS, Porsche Carrera Cup Asia, Thailand Super Series, and Lamborghini Super Trofeo Asia. 2024 marks the 21st year of ACCC taking place at Sepang, which will host all of the series’ races this season.

With amendments to this year’s Racing Regulations extending the eligibility date for classic cars to “pre-31 December 1994”, as well as a new MSS/MCS Legends class for former MSS and MCS cars “pre-12/2007”, more cars are now eligible to participate in ACCC than ever before. The championship’s third round will also feature the first night race in ACCC history, with an additional night race on the cars for the season finale.

Format and classes

ACCC race weekends consist of a 30-minute official practice session, followed by 30 minutes of qualifying. Drivers will then take to the track for two 30-minute ten-lap races on the full Grand Prix circuit. Additional paid practice sessions are available to drivers and teams ahead of each race weekend.

The 2024 ACCC features six classes: Class A, Class B, Class O, Super Lights, Modern Classics, and MSS/MCS Legends.

  • Class A: Cars pre-31/12/1994, 1500 cc and under.
  • Class B: Cars pre-31/12/1994, 1500 cc to 3000 cc.
  • Class O: Cars pre-31/12/1994, over 3000 cc.
  • Super Lights: Lotus Seven derivatives of any age, plus non-aero prototypes pre-31/12/1994.
  • Modern Classics: Race cars between 1/1/1990 and 31/12/1999, plus Lotus Elise/Exige S1 and S2 of any age.
  • MSS/MCS Legends: Cars pre-31/12/12007 which previously raced in MSS/MCS, but are now ineligible for the 2024 MCS due to being pre-2007.

Mac Chung Hui dominates first round

Qualifying saw Malaysian Super Lights driver Mac Chung Hui secure pole position in his Caterham 420R with a 02:24.762. Fellow compatriot and Super Lights competitor Teh Kean Yong followed closely behind with a 0.370s gap.

Australian driver and Series Chairman Daniel Bilski was the fastest driver in Class O with a time of 02:25.974, whilst Vietnamese racer Pham Kim Thang led Class B in his Honda Civic with a time of 02:35.216. Singaporean racer Ratnaraj Sivagnanam was the only competitor in Class A, clocking a time of 02:51.431.

Race one saw Chung Hui dominate with a 01:16.614 gap ahead of Class O driver William Dew, as his only Super Lights rival Kean Yong failed to finish. Bilski also retired from the race, effectively meaning that every finisher in Super Lights, Class O, and Class A would secure a class victory. In Class B, Kim Thang finished ahead of Dutch Toyota Corolla driver Wijnand Schagen.

The second race of the weekend saw no retirees, with Chung Hui’s margin over the field cut to 25.343. Bilski finished ahead of Kean Yong to take the second spot on the podium and the Class O victory. Class B driver Kim Thang would overtake Class O driver William Dew to finish fourth overall and first in class, whilst Class A driver Sivagnanam finished ahead of Schagen to take sixth.

The next round of the 2024 ACCC will take place on the 7th-9th June. Live timing is available on

Header photo credit: Thomas Pfister


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here