The second Porsche Carrera Cup Asia practice session took place under sunny conditions. Intense competition among drivers saw multiple lead changes and incidents affecting the final results.

By Nida Anis

Chris van der Drift (NZL) led early on in his Toro Racing #99 car, before Dylan Pereira (LUX) overtook him in his Team Shanghai Yonda BWT #86. Florian Latorre (FRA) then set the pace with a 01:38.535 lap around the 3.74-kilometre-long Bangsaen Street Circuit in his Team Jebsen #55. Seven-and-a-half minutes into the session, Van der Drift improved, setting a 01:38.529 as Latorre pulled into the pits.

In Pro-Am, Bao Jinlong (CHN) was the early pace setter, clocking a 01:40.9675 on his third lap in his Phantom Global Racing #7 car. His closest rivals were Francis Tija (HKG) in the Trans-China Automotive Racing #21, and Eric Zang (CHN) in the #77 Toro Racing car. Munkong Sathienthirakul (THA) led the Am class ahead of Lu Zhiwei (MAC) and Henry Kwong (HKG).

Pereira then set a 01:37.168 on his sixth lap to top the timesheets once again with a sizeable 0.841s gap to second-placed Martin Ragginger (AUT), as the track rubbered in more. However, incidents would soon turn what seemed to be a relatively drama-free session into one riddled with stoppages.

Multiple red flags interrupt the session

Lu Zhiwei had a big impact with the barrier coming into T17, causing his R&B Racing #777 to block the track. Tija’s #21 collided into Zhiwei’s car and led to the red flag being brought out, interrupting the session. Practice two was extended to 13:28; pit exit opened at 13:05 with 23 minutes remmaining in the session.

Van der Drift clocked a 01:37.033 to set the fastest lap with 17 minutes to go. Shortly after, the #88 Toro Racing of Hendrik Jaya Soewatdy (IND) hit the barriers, although he managed to return to the pits without interrupting the sessions. With 13 minutes to go, Ragginger topped the timesheets with a 01:36.982.

However, it wasn’t long until the session was red flagged for the second time, as Li Xuanyu’s #321 Z.Speed Motorsport car had a hard hit into the barriers. The session resumed with just under six minutes to go, and Van der Drift returned to the top of the session standings with a 01:36.786 on his 15th lap.

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia practice two results

  1. Florian Latorre (FRA), Team Jebsen #55, 1:36.553, 139.45 km/h (Pro)
  2. Chris Van Der Drift (NZL), TORO Racing #99, 1:36.786, 0.233, 139.11 km/h (Pro)
  3. Martin Ragginger (AUT), Porsche Holding #86, 1:36.982, 0.429, 138.83 km/h (Pro)
  4. Dylan Pereira (LUX), Team Shanghai Yonda BWT #5, 1:37.168, 0.615, 138.56 km/h (Pro)
  5. Rodrigo Dias Almeida (MOZ), R&B Racing #18, 1:39.097, 2.544, 135.87 km/h (Pro)
  6. Bao Jinlong (CHN), Phantom Global Racing #7, 1:39.162, 2.609, 135.78 km/h (Pro-Am)
  7. Eric Zang (CHN), TORO Racing #77, 1:39.177, 2.624, 135.76 km/h (Pro-Am)
  8. Nazim Azman (MAS), Sime Darby Racing Team #17, 1:39.773, 3.220, 134.95 km/h (Pro)
  9. Dylan Yip (HKG), Team Luanzhou Intl. Circuit #6, 1:39.881, 3.328, 134.80 km/h (Pro)
  10. Marco Giltrap (NZL), Team Porsche New Zealand #84, 1:39.990, 3.437, 134.65 km/h (Pro)

Header photo credit: Mac


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here