Later this week, the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship arrives to the home of the Formula One Chinese Grand Prix at the Shanghai International Circuit. Asian Motorsport previews the weekend and details all you need to know before the action gets underway at the inaugural Shanghai E-Prix.

By Seb Tirado

Return to China

Opened in 2004, the Shanghai International Circuit has played host to the likes of Formula One, A1GP and the World Endurance Championship and now welcomes Formula E for the first time. The drivers will race on a variation of the Shanghai International Circuit known as the West Long Circuit, with a combination of fast straights, flowing sweepers and tight corners. 

The last time that Formula E raced in China was at the one-off Sanya E-Prix on the streets of Sanya on Hainan Island for Round 6 of the 2018-19 season. The last time that Formula E raced in mainland China was in the 2014-2015 season at the Beijing E-Prix ran around the Olympic Stadium. Indeed, Beijing was where the first-ever race of the Formula E Championship was held, which was won by Lucas di Grassi after a last-lap collision between Nico Prost and Nick Heidfeld.

Home race hopes for ERT

Last time that Formula E raced in China, ERT were known as the Nio Formula E Team and fielded Tom Dillman and Oliver Turvey. By that point in the season, they had only scored 6 points with a best finish of 8th in Santiago after a difficult start to their year. In 2024, ERT scored 3 points going into Round 6 after having a similarly difficult start to the season with a best finish of 9th in Diriyah. However, they would score 12 points that same race after achieving a season-best finish so far of 4th.

ERT Formula E Team drivers Dan Ticktum and Sérgio Sette Câmara | Credit: Formula E

After scoring a further 8 points with Sette Câmara in the second race in Misano, ERT have since then only achieved a best finish of 13th in Monaco and at the second race in Berlin. However, with the two races in Shanghai looking to once again to be the heavy peloton-style as seen in Misano – and to a lesser-extent São Paulo and Berlin – and given how successful the team were in Rounds 6 and 7, more championship points in their home double-header may not be entirely out of the question.

Where everyone stands

Nick Cassidy currently leads the Drivers’ World Championship for Jaguar TCS Racing with 140 points. Oliver Rowland stands 3rd in the standings with 118 points for Nissan, with teammate Sacha Fenestraz in 11th with 26 points. For ERT, Dan Ticktum stands in 17th with 12 points, just ahead of teammate Sérgio Sette Câmara in 18th with 11 points. Behind them is Jehan Daruvala for Maserati MSG Racing in 19th with 8 points. Edoardo Mortara stands in 20th with 7 points for Mahindra, with teammate Nyck de Vries in 25th after missing the previous race weekend in Berlin.

Jaguar TCS Racing still has a strong lead in the Teams’ World Championship with 237 points. Nissan also remains the lead Asian team in 3rd with 144 points. ERT still stands in 9th with 23 points, as does Mahindra in 11th with 7 points, with Mortara their sole point-scorer so far this season.

In the Manufacturers’ Trophy, Jaguar has a very marginal lead with 266 points. Nissan remains in 3rd with 202 points and Mahindra is now 5th with 26 points ahead of Electric Racing Technologies in 6th with 23 points.

Weekend schedule

Free Practice 1 – 09:00 UTC / 17:00 CST May 24th

Free Practice 2 – 00:00 UTC / 08:00 CST May 25th

Qualifying – 02:20 UTC / 10:20 CST May 25th

Shanghai E-Prix – 07:00 UTC / 15:00 CST May 25th

Free Practice 3 – 00:00 UTC / 08:00 CST May 26th

Qualifying – 02:20 UTC / 10:20 CST May 26th

Shanghai E-Prix – 07:00 UTC / 15:00 CST May 26th

Header image credit: Formula E

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here